Governing Council

Trust Nominees

Mr. R. Elangovan

Chairman,MIT Institutions, Musiri

Mr. R. Elangovan is the Founder Chairman of MIT college of Agriculture and Technology, Musiri. He has been serving as Chairman, Tamil Nadu State Cooperative Bank and also Chairman, Salem Central Co Operative Bank, He is also the Management Trustee of MIT School and Colleges and serving for the cause of educational development of students.

Portrait of Vice Chairman

Er. E. Praveen Kumar

Vice Chairman – MIT Institutions, Musiri

Er. E. Praveen Kumar, Vice Chairman of the MIT Institutions, Musiri, holds Bachelor Degree in B.Tech (Engineering) from Sathyabama University, Chennai. He is the member of the Swamy Ayyappan Educational Trust, working for the welfare and educational development of students, an integral part of the curriculum. He also plays strategic roles in group institutions like MIT College of Agriculture and Technology, MIT Polytechnic College, MIT College of Arts and Science for Women, MIT Bodhi Vidhayala CBSC School and MIT College of Health Sciences. 

Mr. K. Shanmugam, IAS

Former Advisor of Tamil Nadu & Former Chief Secretary, Govt. of Tamil Nadu

He hails from Vazhapadi village in Salem District. He completed his Masters degree in Agriculture from Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, Coimbatore, passed the Indian Civil Service Examination and joined the Government of Tamil Nadu on 27 August 1985. He started his career in 1985 as the Assistant District Collector of Tanjore District. Since then, he has been the Collector of Sivagangai and Pudukottai and has been responsible for various important departments. Prior to his appointment as Chief Secretary, Govt. of Tamil Nadu, he held key positions in the General Secretariat, including Principal Secretary, Department of Cooperatives, Food and Consumer Protection and Secretary, Department of Finance. As Finance Secretary since May 2010, has dealt with the state’s financial crisis. During his tenure as Finance Secretary, he received a lot of praise from many quarters. He has tabled 9 budgets and 2 interim budgets of Tamil Nadu State.

Tamil Nadu Agricultural University

University Nominee


Dr. P. Masilamani

Dean, Anbil Dharmalingam Agricultural College & Research Institute (ADAC&RI),Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, Tiruchirapalli 620027

He obtained his Ph.D (Agriculture) in Seed Science and Technology during 1996 from Tamil Nadu Agricultural university, Coimbatore. In 1997 he started his career as a Scientist in Central potato Research Institute, Shimla. A year later he joined in Tamil Nadu Agricultural University and served as Assistant Professor and Associate Professor at AEC&RI, Kumulur, Trichy. In 2012-13 he served as Director, National Seed Research and Training Centre, Varanasi, a Ministry of Agriculture and farmers welfare Unit, Govt. of India. He served as Professor at AC&RI, Madurai during 2014-16, and AEC&RI, Kumulur, Trichy during 2016-18. Later, he was promoted as Dean of ADAC&RI-Trichy, a constituent college of Tamil Nadu Agricultural University during 2019. He received several awards and medals throughout the period of his academics and research. He Published 118 numbers of National & International research articles, 4 Books with ISBN and 24 Book chapters.  He presented 50 number of papers in National and International conferences. 

External Experts

Dr. C. Ramasamy

Distinguished Agricultural Economist & Former Vice Chancellor of Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, Coimbatore.

As a distinguished Agricultural Economist, he served as the Vice Chancellor, Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, Coimbatore for a period of Six years from 4th November 2002 to 29th December 2008. Currently working on M&E of Agricultural Development Projects. He was the President of Indian Society of Agricultural Economics from 2011 to 2015. Associated with Agricultural Innovation Partnership project funded by USAID promoting agricultural education and extension in select Agricultural Universities in India and few developing countries (2011 -Till date). He was a Visiting Research Fellow, International Food Policy Research Institute, Washington D.C.(1984-87), Visiting Researcher, International  Rice Research Institute, Manila and also at ICRISAT, Hyderabad, India. He also the Member, Planning Commission, Government of Tamilnadu (1984-85).

Dr. E. Vadivel

Strategic Advisor FPOs, / Erode Precision Farm Producer Co. Ltd., / Vice President: Panchagavya Foundation Trust

Former Dean (Horticulture & Director Extension Education, Tamil Nadu Agricultural University

Dr. E. Vadivel, Former Dean (Horticulture) & Former Director (Extension Education), TNAU, Coimbatore, is now serving as a strategic Advisor of FPO’s incorporating 58 Farmer Producer companies with 1000 farmers in each each under SFAC. He was the state level consultant for collective farming project during 2017 – 20. He is also serving as the Chairman and Managing Trustee of Agri Systems Foundation. He served in various capacities and he is serving as an expert committee member for many organization and Institutes. His international experience includes various programs, contributions and participation in different countries for diverse fields of study.  He is the Member of the Scientific / Professional Organizations viz, Staff Selection Committee, Indian Institute of Spices, ICAR, Calicut, Staff Selection Committee, National Banana Research Centre, ICAR, Trichy, Member, Institute Management Committee, CPCRI, Trivandrum . 

Mr. P. Sellamuthu

Director General, Indian Institute of Energy Management / Director, Jaitech Power House Pvt. Ltd / Director, Winshakthi Energycom Pvt. Ltd

Mr. P. Sellamuthu is an Energy Engineer certified by B.E.E. (Bureau of Energy Efficiency – Govt. of India) as a competent Energy Auditor. He has involved in design, installation and operation of diesel power plants in India for over 20 years. He also owns a power fleet of combined capacity of 42 MW and running the plants for various industrial customers in India. 

He is the Member of INSHP (International Network for Small Hydro Power), Hangzhou, China, functioning under UNIDO’s sponsorship.
He is a honorary Director of Indian Institute of Energy Management, a premier institute imparting training for Engineers and Managers working in energy utilities in industries. The institute has trained more than 5000 personnel in energy management and conservation. 

He is also the Director of Jaitech Power House Pvt. Ltd. which is providing state of art energy management solutions (standby, emergency and base load power) for industries and Director of Winshakthi Energycom Pvt. Ltd., an energy and environment solution company providing noise reduction solutions for equipment’s like generators, compressors, power press etc.


Ex Officio

MITCAT Principal

Dr. T. Raguchander

Principal, MIT College of Agriculture and Technology, Musiri

Dr. T. Raguchander has vast experience both in Under Graduate and Post Graduate teaching in the subject of Plant Pathology. His field of specialisation is phytotoxin in activation by microbes and PGPR mediated resistance against pathogens in plants. So far 240 research papers both in national and international peer reviewed journals and 20 book chapters have been published. Published 5 books in Plant Pathology as ready reckoner for the benefit of Under Graduate students. Obtained 14 and 16 externally funded research projects as Principal Investigator and Co- PI from various funding agencies like DBT, DST, ICAR, Sugar Cane Development Fund, FAO and Private companies like Syngenta, Rallis India, Bayor Crop Science and Coramandel International etc.

Sites We Follow